I will check out that link, and check out the food as well.
Do you know about good food in Mississauga? Good food in Toronto will be easy to find, there are many guides, websites and people to ask. Good food in the suburbs... not so much.
There are some lovely places in Port Credit, but they are of the pub or burger/salad joint variety. Where can we find sushi, Chinese, Thai, etc.? (Insert the word good before each.) Does anyone know a source for finding good food in this crazy sprawl?
Hi L great choice! I like your car and the color gray is nice too. I am a car freak so I know each car there is:) It looks like you will be traveling a lot in this wagon, wagons are for that!:) Anyways good buy! bye gito
Hey Gito, that's not grey, it's metallic silver. :) I'm glad it passes inspection by a car freak. I guess it's a boring car as cars go, but it's exactly what we needed and wanted. Can't say fairer than that.
Oddly enough, there's a place friends and I used to go right there in Port Credit, down in the marina. I'll be damned if I can remember the name. Great food. Kind of pricy, though, which is why we weren't there too often.
If you're ever in Meadowvale, there's a restaurant called Appleby's (not associated with the US chain) at what's left of Meadowvale Town Centre. It's just a little average restaurant, but if you're shopping and need to eat, they really have good food. For what it's worth, my Dad, who's not really given to emotional overstatement, once told me plainly, "I think they make the best club sandwich in Ontario."
Most of the places I've favoured over the years are outside Mississauga. The Copper Kettle in Georgetown, an honest-to-God English pub, introduced me to curry over chips. Best I've ever had.
The Great Khan Mongolian BBQ in Markham, in the same complex as the Pacific Mall at Kennedy and Steeles, is a must (note: that's the Kennedy and Steeles at Toronto/Markham, not the Kennedy and Steeles in Brampton). But go at lunch. Supper is, for some reason, hideously expensive; but lunch will cost you no more than $15.
If you like pizza, Gino's. Hand's down. I'm not sure if they deliver where you are; when I lived in Mississauga, the closest ones were in Oakville, and we used to have to drive to pick it up. It was worth the trip. The mozzerella they use is just like butter.
If you go to Hamilton, there's a great German/Austrian/Hungarian place down on Main St. called The Black Forest Inn (aka Schwartzwald Haus). Sometimes you have a wait a little while for a table, but the food there is fantastic... though in inverse proportion to its healthiness. :) I recommended it to a friend who actually hails from Germany and even he found it praiseworthy.
Thai, best place I know is Satay On the Road, but it's in Toronto, on Bayview, a little south of Eglinton. They have the best hot and sour soup going, and they serve stuff almost hot enough for me. :)
The best Chinese restaurant I know is, believe it or not, in Fort Erie, literally across the river from Buffalo. The Ming Teh. It's so good, most of the clientel are visitors from Buffalo. And you never know when you might have occasion to go to Buffalo. :)
LP, I thank you so much for this! It's exactly what I was looking for. I'm going to copy it into a doc and print it out.
Funny about Buffalo. I actually want to pay that city a visit - I mean a real visit, not a trip to the airport rental car counter. There's a Frank Lloyd Wright home, an Olmstead park and some art deco buildings that are supposed to be great.
Since I'm only 90 minutes away, I figure I'll do a walking tour one day. Chinese food in Fort Erie will be the perfect thing!
If you like pizza, Gino's. Hand's down. I'm not sure if they deliver where you are; when I lived in Mississauga, the closest ones were in Oakville, and we used to have to drive to pick it up. It was worth the trip.
If I'm not mistaken, there is a Gino's in the middle of Port Credit, opposite our Second Cup. If it's the same place, I'll be very happy. Being from New York City, I am by definition a pizza lover - and only really good pizza will do. I'll check it out.
I see about as many of those "Ontario" plates here in south florida as I did back home...one of my good friends always insists that "yours to discover" is some sort of secret, kinky, canadian code. I let him believe it.
There's a movement to put the face of Tommy Douglas on the next Canadian $5 bill. Wouldn't that be wonderful? And wouldn't it be a kick in the pants to those who seek to privatize our health care system? Go here to nominate Tommy Douglas.
This spelling thing everyone keeps warning me about is more complicated than I thought! This page runs through the terms of the debate. Check it out - it's informative and amusing. Thanks to ALPF, of course.
Will a Canadian or two please explain this to me? Canadian Court Chips Away at National Health Care Toronto, June 9 The Canadian Supreme Court struck down a Quebec law banning private medical insurance today, dealing an acute blow to the publicly financed national health care system. The court stopped short of striking down the constitutionality of the country's vaunted nationwide coverage, but legal experts said the ruling would open the door to a wave of lawsuits challenging the health care system in other provinces. The system, providing Canadians with free doctor's services that are paid for by taxes, has generally been supported by the public, and is broadly identified with the Canadian national character. But in recent years, patients have been forced to wait longer for diagnostic tests and elective surgery, while the wealthy and well connected either seek care in the United States or use influence to jump ahead on waiting lists. The court ruled that the waiting lists had...
Congratulations again,
ReplyDeleteI am sure you are going to love the freedom a car can give ya!
Peter
Thank you Anonymous Peter! I'm really psyched about it, like a little kid with the best new toy ever.
ReplyDeleteROFL
ReplyDeletePeter
Low blow, LP! ;-)
ReplyDeleteI will check out that link, and check out the food as well.
Do you know about good food in Mississauga? Good food in Toronto will be easy to find, there are many guides, websites and people to ask. Good food in the suburbs... not so much.
There are some lovely places in Port Credit, but they are of the pub or burger/salad joint variety. Where can we find sushi, Chinese, Thai, etc.? (Insert the word good before each.) Does anyone know a source for finding good food in this crazy sprawl?
Shiny and pretty, with a nice Canadian license plate!
ReplyDeleteThanks, Anonymous Peter! (Maybe I should just call you AP?)
ReplyDeleteHi L great choice! I like your car and the color gray is nice too. I am a car freak so I know each car there is:)
ReplyDeleteIt looks like you will be traveling a lot in this wagon, wagons are for that!:)
Anyways good buy!
bye
gito
Great-looking car! Enjoy it!
ReplyDeleteThanks Mkk and Gito!
ReplyDeleteHey Gito, that's not grey, it's metallic silver. :) I'm glad it passes inspection by a car freak. I guess it's a boring car as cars go, but it's exactly what we needed and wanted. Can't say fairer than that.
Do you know about good food in Mississauga?
ReplyDeleteOddly enough, there's a place friends and I used to go right there in Port Credit, down in the marina. I'll be damned if I can remember the name. Great food. Kind of pricy, though, which is why we weren't there too often.
If you're ever in Meadowvale, there's a restaurant called Appleby's (not associated with the US chain) at what's left of Meadowvale Town Centre. It's just a little average restaurant, but if you're shopping and need to eat, they really have good food. For what it's worth, my Dad, who's not really given to emotional overstatement, once told me plainly, "I think they make the best club sandwich in Ontario."
Most of the places I've favoured over the years are outside Mississauga. The Copper Kettle in Georgetown, an honest-to-God English pub, introduced me to curry over chips. Best I've ever had.
The Great Khan Mongolian BBQ in Markham, in the same complex as the Pacific Mall at Kennedy and Steeles, is a must (note: that's the Kennedy and Steeles at Toronto/Markham, not the Kennedy and Steeles in Brampton). But go at lunch. Supper is, for some reason, hideously expensive; but lunch will cost you no more than $15.
If you like pizza, Gino's. Hand's down. I'm not sure if they deliver where you are; when I lived in Mississauga, the closest ones were in Oakville, and we used to have to drive to pick it up. It was worth the trip. The mozzerella they use is just like butter.
If you go to Hamilton, there's a great German/Austrian/Hungarian place down on Main St. called The Black Forest Inn (aka Schwartzwald Haus). Sometimes you have a wait a little while for a table, but the food there is fantastic... though in inverse proportion to its healthiness. :) I recommended it to a friend who actually hails from Germany and even he found it praiseworthy.
Thai, best place I know is Satay On the Road, but it's in Toronto, on Bayview, a little south of Eglinton. They have the best hot and sour soup going, and they serve stuff almost hot enough for me. :)
The best Chinese restaurant I know is, believe it or not, in Fort Erie, literally across the river from Buffalo. The Ming Teh. It's so good, most of the clientel are visitors from Buffalo. And you never know when you might have occasion to go to Buffalo. :)
LP, I thank you so much for this! It's exactly what I was looking for. I'm going to copy it into a doc and print it out.
ReplyDeleteFunny about Buffalo. I actually want to pay that city a visit - I mean a real visit, not a trip to the airport rental car counter. There's a Frank Lloyd Wright home, an Olmstead park and some art deco buildings that are supposed to be great.
Since I'm only 90 minutes away, I figure I'll do a walking tour one day. Chinese food in Fort Erie will be the perfect thing!
If you like pizza, Gino's. Hand's down. I'm not sure if they deliver where you are; when I lived in Mississauga, the closest ones were in Oakville, and we used to have to drive to pick it up. It was worth the trip.
ReplyDeleteIf I'm not mistaken, there is a Gino's in the middle of Port Credit, opposite our Second Cup. If it's the same place, I'll be very happy. Being from New York City, I am by definition a pizza lover - and only really good pizza will do. I'll check it out.
I see about as many of those "Ontario" plates here in south florida as I did back home...one of my good friends always insists that "yours to discover" is some sort of secret, kinky, canadian code. I let him believe it.
ReplyDeleteVery Cool!
ReplyDeleteJust got back from a road trip to Ohio and am catching up on wmtc. I can't tell you how many Ontario plates we saw on the road...