Sorry--the above post was mine--but I needed spell check and didn't have it. My bad. Anyways...
Not a comment about the couch (although I miss it) or even the Couch blog (envious of the Blogger support!!!), but I was just down in Port Credit, and wanted to tell you. It is much nicer than I remember it, as most things are in the GTA. I was a mere teen whenI lived here, and hated everything and almost everyone. I think that you'll like it a bunch. It is one part of Mississauga that has eluded the suburban touch.
Hey, thanks for this Andy! You coulda left the typos in. :-)
We also really like Port Credit, for just that reason. The funny thing is, we stumbled on it by accident on our first trip up to Toronto, and got the (incorrect) impression that all the suburbs were cute little towns like that. After looking around more, and seeing how unique Port Credit is, we really wanted to live there.
Plus it's so close to downtown, and has decent public transit to Toronto, compared to most places in Mississauga.
We can't believe how lucky we were to find this house so easily.
I was a mere teen whenI lived here, and hated everything and almost everyone.
You will appreciate that when I was growing up in the NYC suburbs, my theme song was "...it's a town for losers, I'm pulling outta here to win..."
You saw a great show, eh? Bruce never disappoints.
There's a movement to put the face of Tommy Douglas on the next Canadian $5 bill. Wouldn't that be wonderful? And wouldn't it be a kick in the pants to those who seek to privatize our health care system? Go here to nominate Tommy Douglas.
This spelling thing everyone keeps warning me about is more complicated than I thought! This page runs through the terms of the debate. Check it out - it's informative and amusing. Thanks to ALPF, of course.
Will a Canadian or two please explain this to me? Canadian Court Chips Away at National Health Care Toronto, June 9 The Canadian Supreme Court struck down a Quebec law banning private medical insurance today, dealing an acute blow to the publicly financed national health care system. The court stopped short of striking down the constitutionality of the country's vaunted nationwide coverage, but legal experts said the ruling would open the door to a wave of lawsuits challenging the health care system in other provinces. The system, providing Canadians with free doctor's services that are paid for by taxes, has generally been supported by the public, and is broadly identified with the Canadian national character. But in recent years, patients have been forced to wait longer for diagnostic tests and elective surgery, while the wealthy and well connected either seek care in the United States or use influence to jump ahead on waiting lists. The court ruled that the waiting lists had...
Sorry--the above post was mine--but I needed spell check and didn't have it. My bad. Anyways...
ReplyDeleteNot a comment about the couch (although I miss it) or even the Couch blog (envious of the Blogger support!!!), but I was just down in Port Credit, and wanted to tell you. It is much nicer than I remember it, as most things are in the GTA. I was a mere teen whenI lived here, and hated everything and almost everyone. I think that you'll like it a bunch. It is one part of Mississauga that has eluded the suburban touch.
Hey, thanks for this Andy! You coulda left the typos in. :-)
ReplyDeleteWe also really like Port Credit, for just that reason. The funny thing is, we stumbled on it by accident on our first trip up to Toronto, and got the (incorrect) impression that all the suburbs were cute little towns like that. After looking around more, and seeing how unique Port Credit is, we really wanted to live there.
Plus it's so close to downtown, and has decent public transit to Toronto, compared to most places in Mississauga.
We can't believe how lucky we were to find this house so easily.
I was a mere teen whenI lived here, and hated everything and almost everyone.
You will appreciate that when I was growing up in the NYC suburbs, my theme song was "...it's a town for losers, I'm pulling outta here to win..."
You saw a great show, eh? Bruce never disappoints.
Thanks for stopping by to tell me this.
RE The Daily Show, and the Blogger Blog Of Note ...
ReplyDeleteJust goes to show: Jon Stewart has finally made it. Big time.
;-) G
Can't get any bigger than Blogger! :)
ReplyDelete