Yes there is such a thing as getting too worried too soon. If I were him I'd wait until the Yanks get swept by a team no one thought would contend, such as the Jays (could happen, look at our offense this year - and the big guys aren't even hitting yet!) ... then I'd start freaking. But to do it after losing to the O's, especially so early? Hey, Baltimore's built a good team ... AL East will be the AL's equivalent to the NL Central this year ... maybe even tighter.
He's just a buffoon. A, baseball is a looong season, and it's way too early to make any judgements. But more so, B, you can't goad people into playing better. If they're overpaid, who's fault is that? Whatever a player is paid, they are who they are, and can only perform according to that. They're not machines.
I don't think the AL East will be any big race this year. I can't see either the Jays or the Orioles holding up. But I won't be at all surprised if the Yankees don't even make the playoffs...!
There's a movement to put the face of Tommy Douglas on the next Canadian $5 bill. Wouldn't that be wonderful? And wouldn't it be a kick in the pants to those who seek to privatize our health care system? Go here to nominate Tommy Douglas.
This spelling thing everyone keeps warning me about is more complicated than I thought! This page runs through the terms of the debate. Check it out - it's informative and amusing. Thanks to ALPF, of course.
Will a Canadian or two please explain this to me? Canadian Court Chips Away at National Health Care Toronto, June 9 The Canadian Supreme Court struck down a Quebec law banning private medical insurance today, dealing an acute blow to the publicly financed national health care system. The court stopped short of striking down the constitutionality of the country's vaunted nationwide coverage, but legal experts said the ruling would open the door to a wave of lawsuits challenging the health care system in other provinces. The system, providing Canadians with free doctor's services that are paid for by taxes, has generally been supported by the public, and is broadly identified with the Canadian national character. But in recent years, patients have been forced to wait longer for diagnostic tests and elective surgery, while the wealthy and well connected either seek care in the United States or use influence to jump ahead on waiting lists. The court ruled that the waiting lists had...
Yes there is such a thing as getting too worried too soon. If I were him I'd wait until the Yanks get swept by a team no one thought would contend, such as the Jays (could happen, look at our offense this year - and the big guys aren't even hitting yet!) ... then I'd start freaking. But to do it after losing to the O's, especially so early? Hey, Baltimore's built a good team ... AL East will be the AL's equivalent to the NL Central this year ... maybe even tighter.
ReplyDeleteHe's just a buffoon. A, baseball is a looong season, and it's way too early to make any judgements. But more so, B, you can't goad people into playing better. If they're overpaid, who's fault is that? Whatever a player is paid, they are who they are, and can only perform according to that. They're not machines.
ReplyDeleteI don't think the AL East will be any big race this year. I can't see either the Jays or the Orioles holding up. But I won't be at all surprised if the Yankees don't even make the playoffs...!
Looks like Georgie's rant worked.
ReplyDelete19 runs motivated by fear of getting cut? Maybe he told Jeter to shave his sideburns ...
Yup, a clever PR move, ranting just before the team plays the D-Rays. Good timing, Georgie.
ReplyDelete